Grading Blue Books Sonnet

Unconquerable morning’s arrival

Placing its jack-booted foot on my neck

I stare down hoping for my survival

Thinking I’m grateful to endure this wreck 
I do my morning chores reluctantly

Culling papers sentences & word choice

Many essays complete tasks skillfully

Explaining why everyone needs a voice
The graded papers reveal weaknesses

Of the lives students must endure these days

They, workers, aren’t more than appliances

To the America that sometimes pays
I’m a cog in the scholarly machine

Grinding rough edges off of human dreams

2 responses to “Grading Blue Books Sonnet

  1. lewis agrees with me , this is an excellent! poem!

Leave a Reply

