1st Day of Classes Sonnet


First day of classes for thing 3 & I
Painful alarm waking me too early
We begin on a year that will fly by
Though each day’s a chance to be surly

The 1st day of high school for our youngest
Her siblings traveled this path’s ev’ry twist
Meaning we must have already done this
Here in verse I am rhyming I am blessed

Bronx science is the big coup in my mind
& I’m interested in how she does
But what’s most exciting is what she’ll find
In her heart, soul & her personal loves

So I will march off to teach my classes
Worrying about her mixing with masses

Leave a Reply

