After Finals Sonnet

  
I gave all my classes their last finals

They sat to write in their usual way

Each one performing to their own levels

As I wake the next day I’ve got to say
As much as I resented their papers

& as vexed as I was by attendance

& their rutting & juvenile capers

I am missing their spirits abundance
Coming to class tardy (or not at all)

Talking or texting when I’m lecturing

Ignoring my warnings, letting due dates fall

I still must note their absence with yearning
My students who cluttered my last 4 months

My summer freedom their absence affronts

Leave a Reply

