“Deafening Silence” Haiku to Sonnet

First Thoughts

I took an old haiku string that I wrote (when I still had the Blackberry) and turned it into a sonnet. As I write haiku I often tell myself that these are placeholders for longer thoughts that I want to return to. Now I have returned to this one that is at least three years old (when did I get the iPhonE?)

Deafening Silence Haiku

1a. Deafening Silence/
Sarcastic Oxymoron/
Of those who were wrong/

1b. Deafening Silence/
Sarcastic Oxymoron/
Of people who’re wrong/

Deafening Silence/
Assumption’s stinging defeat/
In Oxymoron/
Deafening Silence/
Assumption’s oxymoron/
Of total failure/

4a. Defeat’s triumph sung/
By the angels of failure/
Deafening silence/

4b. Defeat’s triumph sung/
Mutely by Failure’s Angels:/
Deafening silence/

4c. Defeat’s rhythm beaten/
Mutely by Failure’s Angels:/
Deafening silence/

Mute Defeat

Suddenly struck by Deafening Silence/
A quiet stinging lash across the face/
Passivity has no less violence/
When the vanquished admits his awful place/

Defeat’s triumph boldly though mutely sung/
Heralded by the angels of failure/
Though the adversary climbs down one rung/
Victory’s got ill-fitting regalia/

Do I enjoy this awful victory?/
For whenever I win, someone loses/
Someone has been vanquished so bitterly/
There lies an ego’s soul flossing bruises/

The averted eyes’ silent aria/
Fatal to the proud as diphtheria/

3 responses to ““Deafening Silence” Haiku to Sonnet

  1. Less happy on this re-reading
    Though to quit is defeating
    But I took a haiku-string
    and made it into something

  2. Deafening Silence/
    The Occupied have a right
    To defend themselves/
    Save a-Aqsa mosque/
    Silence is Complicity

Leave a Reply

