Haiku Journal DMV-Manhattan-Subway Edition

new york sattelite 1

Yesterday I went to the DMV to get a New York License. I was dreading the waiting, but optimistic about finally getting my bureaucratic life in some sort of order. (Next I will try to get a passport!) I write my journal haiku or senryu throughout the day and today’s rhythm gave me a lot of time to reflect on events. There were three things that happened yesterday and I think this is a good “haiku journal” entry, so I am vainly sharing it. (Sorry I can’t format this into columns this Morning)

39. Computers are out/
Metrocards demand money/
At #woodside station/
#haiku

40. Tollbooth clerk covers/
Window with impotent signs/
Backs them with ennui/
#haiku

41. Most are just angry/
Ancient immigrants can’t know/
“Why no traveling?”/
#haiku

42. Clerk tries to explain/
To ancient Himalayan/
Of “system failure”/
#haiku

43. Palms up and head down/
The clerk gives up on language:/
Universal sign/
#haiku

44. Mercifully my/
Soggy cash is accepted/
By god in machine/
#haiku

45. Kindly Latina/
Money’s rejected by god/
Of electric eye/
#haiku

46. She’ll be late for work/
While desperately begging/
For a crisp fiver/
#haiku
47. DMV start time/
For attempt at an ID/
12:20 PM/
#haiku

48. Bureaucracy makes/
Life together easier/
(Not always nicely)/
#haiku

49. Pallet of people/
From which DMV’s painted/
Beyond the spectrum/
#haiku

50. I love New Yorkers/
In their peculiarity/
While being tested/
#haiku

51. Done with first window/
At a painless 12:50/
Miraculously/
#haiku

52. Alpha-Numeric/
Computer-read tickets called/
Impersonally/
#haiku

53. Slow but efficient/
Workers execute their functions/
While we demand more/
#haiku

54. Man with pompadour/
Speaks formal Urdu to wife/
Condescendingly/
#haiku

55. New Americans/
Seem more adept at these lines/
Then those born right here/
#haiku
56. Subway ride back home/
Walked vanishing Manhattan/
Past places ʇɐɥʇ were/
#haiku

57. Manhattan changes/
It is no longer my place/
It’s for others now/
#haiku

58. City Landmarks go/
New places: new memories/
Mine Evaporate/
#haiku

59. Walking those same streets/
Without friends I once walked with/
I’m slowly erased/
#haiku

60. Memories miss me/
Youthful, lustful, desirous/
I’ve outgrown ʇɐɥʇ self/
#haiku

61a. That city belongs/
To ambitious desirous/
Not contemplative/
#haiku

61a. That city belongs/
To ambitious desirous/
Not the satisfied/
#haiku

62. Lovers on the train/
Hungry hands kept to themselves/
Eyes feasting on eyes/
#haiku

63. Thus it’s ever been:/
Youth revels in its beauty/
While the old look on/
#haiku

 

 

One response to “Haiku Journal DMV-Manhattan-Subway Edition

  1. I can’t get over number 44. The god in the machine and I have gotten into many disagreements.

Leave a Reply

