Two Days of Thought

20130709-095105.jpg

7/7/13

34c. The sun rose today/
Gloriously unconcerned:/
Remaining perfect/
#haiku

35. So familiar/
Despair’s hard magnetism/
Impossible hope/
#haiku

36. Unavoidable/
Human decomposition/
In my sagging skin/
#haiku

37. Within this prison/
Of Aging mortality/
I remember youth/
#haiku

38. Watch the present from/
Solitary confinement/
Of maturity/
#haiku

7/8/13

40. “Sub-atomic-self/
-Esteem” described an old friend/
Facebook discovered/
#haiku

41. Smugly I described/
“Sub-Atomic-Self-Esteem”/
Not realizing/
#haiku

42a. We can only see/
Shortcomings* we ourselves share/
The whole world is us/
#haiku *human traits

42b. We can only see/
Shortcomings* we ourselves share/
We’re the world we see/
#haiku *human traits

42c. We can only see/
Shortcomings* we ourselves share/
We are the world seen/
#haiku *human traits

43. My snarky comment/
Putting down a dear old friend/
Really describes me/
#haiku

44. I’m afraid to try/
Where I might face rejection/
Sharing only here/
#haiku

45. Social media:/
Random Collection of “friends:”/
“Low-Stakes-Approval”/
#haiku

46. This “personal” “world”/
Kind, friendly & pleasant, though/
Unprofitable/
#haiku

47. Unprofitable/
Does not mean unfulfilling/
Paradoxically/
#haiku

48. I want to become/
More courageous regarding/
Professional acts/
#haiku

48b. I want to become/
The person I know I am/
Quietly thinking/
#haiku

49a. Becoming “that” man/
Means risking easy comfort/
Imagination/
#haiku

49b. Becoming “that” man/
Means risking easy comfort/
Of dreamy thinking/
#haiku

50b. Two days of thinking/
Contemplating myself, I/
Try to understand/
#haiku

3 responses to “Two Days of Thought

  1. Do you know this tells such a story? I could almost follow your emotions while reading this.

    I have to say, I hope i age as gracefully as you. I was shocked the first time you told me your age I thought you were half that! And you are very active and healthy. But, we all get old. Our bodies are just shells. Its your character that matters most. Don’t forget that.

  2. Pingback: Haiku Sun | Hopeful

Leave a Reply

