Academic Abolitionist Sonnet

20130218-083039.jpg
Editing Brown Sonnet

Addressing this paper academic/
Re-reading & re-writing ideas/
Illustrates my problems are endemic:/
From the pompous I want the most cheers/

The thesis: “undermined literacy”/
By a bright loyal abolitionist/
Was intellectual apostasy/
Formal language makes Blacks contortionists/

I am like runaway slaves showing off/
With my pompous elevated language/
I want my enemies their hats to doff/
For this approval I am most anxious/

It is no small irony I study/
People from long ago like me/

Leave a Reply

