Sledding in Woodside Queens 2013

20130210-084636.jpg
35. Sledding in Woodside/
With the people of the world/
Human gravity/
#haiku
http://bit.ly/V7d1pW

2/10/13

50. The snowy hillside/
In Woodside’s Doughboy playground/
Is peppered with fun/
#haiku

51. Here Colombians/
Bengalis, Tibetans as/
Americans slide/
#haiku

52. Snowy experience/
ReCaptured digitally/
Are sent to tropics/
#haiku

53. iPad made movies/
Of happy Americans/
Are sent far away/
#haiku

54. Woman with hijab/
Gucci covered iPad films/
Her smiling children/
#haiku

55. Korean father/
Roars down the tree covered hill/
Ecstatically loud/
#haiku

20130210-085233.jpg

56. Mexican fam’ly/
Unloads children & their sleds/
Then tackle papí/
#haiku

57. Americans all/
We enjoy democracy/
Of our acceptance/
#haiku

36. Sledding with children/
Overshot my playfulness/
Collided with age/
#haiku

37. Clenching rope handles/
Spinning beyond all control/
Damaged ring finger/
#haiku

38. Regretting my ride/
Because I injured myself/
Shows a lack of faith/
#haiku

39. Staying young inside/
More important than safety/
For immortal* souls/
#haiku *eternal

40. Aging bodies recede/
To within our comfort zone/
Abandoning youth/
#haiku

41. Aches and troubles/
Of old immaturity/
Are truly priceless/
#haiku

42. Youthfulness’s worth/
Though dangerous to old men/
Keeps their spirits fresh/
#haiku

43. Adventure’s value/
Is an internal journey/
Exploring within*/
#haiku *our souls

44. The pains in my body/
Temporarily remind/
My mind I’m alive/
#haiku

45. This throbbing finger/
Beats the rhythm of my heart/
Where I can feel it/
#haiku

46. I regret nothing/
Because I’m educated/
By experience/
#haiku

47. While I don’t like pain/
It reminds me I’m alive/
Here to live for now/
#haiku

20130210-084919.jpg

48. Wedding tourniquet/
The ring keeps my red blood in/
The heart of my life/
#haiku

49. Ring’s Symbol becomes/
An active agent in life/
I cherish it so/
#haiku

20130210-085426.jpg

2 responses to “Sledding in Woodside Queens 2013

  1. A battle scar. For the next few days when your finger hearts , it will put a smile on your face and carry you throughout your day.

    Funny story, my next door neighbor are new home owners. Just over a year they moved in and last year we didnt get much snow. So they piled out of their house yesterday and the husband was the biggest kid of all. He was throwing snowballs. He put their dog on a sled and was pulling it in the street. Then he started making a snow a man…and he had no idea how to do. He finally finished and decorated his snow man with construction gear ( his profession) and took pictures then went off up and down the block asking anyone if they needed help shoveling snow ( he was the first on the block to clear off his property) .

    That night , I walked my dog and she stopped in front the snow man and started pacing in front of it and growing and barking. She stood there for five minutes trying to fight the snow man. lol.

Leave a Reply

