The [Annotated] Gift of Today

20130203-100112.jpg
22. The gift of today/
Arrives before I’m ready/
To savor its wealth/
#haiku

23. I open my gift/
Look at all the small pieces/
& feel overwhelmed/
#haiku

24. We’re all small children/
Christmas morning greedily/
Opening presents/
#haiku

25. Presents we’re given/
Have “some assembly required”/
We don’t want to do/
#haiku

26. We sit on the floor/
Gifts & wrapping everywhere/
Refusing to build/
#haiku

27. This imperfect world/
Requires some assembly/
To become Heaven/
#haiku

28. Pick up the pieces/
& assemble your Heaven/
From what Life’s* given/
#haiku *G_d’s

[annotated version]

22. The gift of today/
Arrives before I’m ready/
To savor its wealth/
#haiku

This is a commentary on how I am distracted by my personal meditations when I should be working on my academic work.

23. I open my gift/
Look at all the small pieces/
& feel overwhelmed/
#haiku

I am correcting my manuscript but I’d rather “play poet” & philosophize my feelings.

24. We’re all small children/
Christmas morning greedily/
Opening presents/
#haiku

Here I return to the “gift metaphor” using Christmas to describe my work as a gift before a spoiled & petulant child.

25. Presents we’re given/
Have “some assembly required”/
We don’t want to do/
#haiku

I place myself in the general flow of ungrateful (western) humans who want a “prefabricated Heaven” assembled by G_d while continuing the modern Christmas metaphor for heaven.

26. We sit on the floor/
Gifts & wrapping everywhere/
Refusing to build/
#haiku

I expand the metaphor of spoiled child at Christmas, thinking of the paper I should be editing. The paper, my work, is a metaphor for Heaven.

27. This imperfect world/
Requires some assembly/
To become Heaven/
#haiku

I think this is my philosophy, that life is Heaven! I remember when I got clean & sober & I went from Hell to Heaven in 90 days. I wish I felt that again more viscerally (90 in 90!)

28. Pick up the pieces/
& assemble your Heaven/
From what Life’s* given/
#haiku *G_d’s

I use G_d & Life interchangeably. Does that diminish or re-enforce my atheism/agnosticism?

Finally, I rather like the invocation-jeremiad to improve your life through work and faith.

2 responses to “The [Annotated] Gift of Today

  1. What a treat. Reading your annotations was really interesting, since I’m used to making my own interpretations when reading your haiku’s .

    • I wish I had the poets’ annotations to so many poems: what did Frost mean in “stopping in the woods” or “good fences?” How about *green eggs & ham?* what did Geisel mean? & what did Sendak’s Max represent?

      Sent from iPhone

Leave a Reply

