More Missing Amir Hassan

Chandler, the youthful scribe of our broken hearts, wrote another letter that I discovered in her room. I found it when we were looking for Halloween Costumes lost since we bought them: the confusing luxury of living life. Though the kids aren’t speaking about the tragedy much, there continue to be silent signs of Amir’s passing. Mason’s weekly essay (which he covered with his arms when I asked about it) is about Amir. Lennox alone is undamaged in our house in Sunnyside.

Letter from Chandler to Amir

Here are some youtubes of our lost prince: Amir in a revival of “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”. Stick with it, these flickering images are all we have left outside of our hearts and dreams.

When I watch this Recorder Recital at Emerson I am reminded of my lack of patience at the kids’ performances and recitals. I am going to try and treasure them from now on. Even the kids who don’t die untimely deaths are only children for a few years. I am going to try and stop rushing Chandler, Mason and Lennox through their childhood and savor our todays.

Today is October 21, 2007; Thank you GOD.

dscn7672-small.jpg

3 responses to “More Missing Amir Hassan

  1. You are so right, Stafford. They’re only children for a few years. You always were good at cherishing and preserving that. Keep it up.

  2. Thanks for your kind words stafford I left my email for you to contact me… this is chad amirs father… thanks Ceopdot@yahoo.com

  3. Chad,

    I am so sorry for your loss. This is a tragedy that (I am still wrapping my head around. I cannot tell you how much of a loss Amir’s Murder is in our lives. People have been hard on you in the Chronicle and other places, but this is just another unfortunate misunderstanding. I remember you coming around as much as the broken relationship between you and Misti permitted. I hope that the pain leaves you, though I know Amir’s spirit never will.

Leave a Reply

