Summer Ends (ANNOTATED To DO List)

chaingangpostcard.jpg

So last night I was distracted, avoiding the honest feeling-filled conversation that was going on around me, and I made a list of the things that I still have to do before I begin the Fall Semester. My Key drive will no longer save the document from my Journal, so I put it here to save. If you have any ideas about what I should do with these texts, holla at me.

Things From a list I made yesterday:

Black Lit Syllabus

Black Lit Reader:

Phyllis Wheatley Poems

The Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudah Equiano, or Gustavus Vassa, the African, (1789) (Excerpt 1, 2, 3, )

Frederick Douglass Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass (1845)

Harriet Jacobs Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl (Excerpt)

W. E. B Du Bois The Souls of Black Folks (Excerpt)

Booker T. Washington Up From Slavery (Excerpt)

James Weldon Johnson Autobiography of An Ex-Colored Man

Charles Chesnutt Marrow of Tradition, The Conjure Woman

Pauline Hopkins (Contending Forces, Of One Blood)

Zora Neale Hurston (Site 1, Site 2, Site 3, Site 4, Site 4a)

Richard Wright (The God That Failed, Black Boy, Source 1, Source 2, Source3)

James Baldwin (The Fire Next Time, November 17th 1962 New Yorker)

ENG101 Syllabus

Coldest Winter Ever

Queensbridge: The Other Side

Mike?

ENC101 Syllabus

Comics

Manichean

The Myth of the American Superhero, Another Superhero Source (Batman Crucified)

Batman: The Dark Knight Returns Good and Evil Feminism, Feminism 2, Feminism 3,

Watchmen: Action and Inaction (Good and Evil) Movie? Annotation?

Mike?

Jon Drinnon’s most excellent Website: chaingangpostcard.jpg

http://www.merritt.edu/apps/comm.asp?Q=P1151

http://jonsenglishsite.info/ Cable Lock on Post

dscn5691-small.jpg Jon’s Sentence Site:

http://jonsenglishsite.info/Sentenccombnew.htm

radiator-snow-1778-large.JPGJon’s MLA Pages

 

Jon’s Pedagogy Pagewonder-wheel-structure-5598-small.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

8 responses to “Summer Ends (ANNOTATED To DO List)

  1. dude, i forgot if we came up with a system for the thank you notes!

    also: Watchmen?! Damn!

  2. I’m excited and nervous about teaching comics. I see lots of opportunity, and a few dangerous shoals.

  3. Apparently, Terry Gilliam agreed that Watchmen should be no more than a 3-movie series as well, and that was one of the reasons he withdrew from directing it.
    I was taught this book when I was in college, so I’m sure it is happening elsewhere as well. The wikipeida entry for the book is exhaustive and covers lots of literary comparisons and origin ideas:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watchmen

  4. Thanks Eric,
    Since Watchmen was one of my favorite books of all times I’m really nervous about teaching it. I’m glad that Mr. Gilliam agrees with me, though I think his style, visually, might have been too dark for the work (Brazil and Time Bandits , though great, are not the right kind of comic-y).

  5. Curious why my blog is linked from the word “feminism.”

    “Bullism,” p’raps.

  6. I’m thinking of ways to organize the links here on what I hope will be the first draft of my various syllabi. I know that Bullism might be more accurate, but I’m looking to distill the ideas for new comics readers. Graphic storytelling, tending towards the testosterone-fueled, needs clarification and I was looking at your sight as a womanist or non-pallogocentric bullwark. I’m afraid that there will be some women in the class who feel, well, “Bullied” by the boy-centric-ideas of Watchmen and The Dark Knight. SO I was looking for some balm.

    When it appears on the syllabus and class website I hope to have a fuller explanation.

    Thanks for looking

  7. Pingback: The Semester Begins (Summer Ends) « WQueens7

  8. I would like to see a continuation of the topic

Leave a Reply

