Spiritual Haikus

Pick up the pieces Haikus

1. Pick up the pieces/
Of your clean unbroken life/
And build something good/
#haiku

2. Assemble your worth/
Not from your new possessions/
But your secret life/
#haiku

2b. Assemble your worth/
Not from your new possessions/
But your private life/
#haiku

3. Worth is not measured,/
Can’t be counted or traded,/
Materially/
#haiku

4. Things that we purchase/
Whisper that “we are alright”/
In terms of our world/
#haiku

4a. Things that we purchase/
Tell us that “we are alright”/
In terms of our world/
#haiku

4b. Things that we purchase/
Declare that “we are alright”/
In terms of our world/
#haiku

5. The world’s unity,/
That physical whole, obscures/
Fragmented Spirits/
#haiku

5a. The world’s unity/
A physical whole covers/
Fragmented Spirits/
#haiku

5b. The world’s unity/
A physical whole covers:/
Spirits are fragments/
#haiku

5c. The world’s unity,/
That physical whole, obscures/
Fragments of Spirits/
#haiku

6. Amass possessions/
Stay in society’s grace/
At spirit’s peril/
#haiku

6b. Amass possessions/
Stay in the world’s good graces/
At spirit’s peril/
#haiku

6c. Amass possessions/
Maintain the world’s good graces/
Risking your spirit/
#haiku

7. Spiritual growth,/
Hindered by our possessions,/
Continues unseen/
#haiku

8. Faith filibusters/
Mental shopping lists for things/
Our world says we “NEED”/
#haiku

8a. Faith filibusters/
Mental shopping lists for things/
Our friends say we “NEED”/
#haiku

9. I walk through the store/
Being told I lack pleasure’s ease/
That these things can give/
#haiku

9a. I walk through this world/
Being told I lack pleasure’s ease/
That just things can give/
#haiku

10. Our world’s desire makes/
Consumption a pink tape-worm/
That feeds on our fear/
#haiku

10a. Modern world’s desire:/
The tape-worm of marketing/
Needs us to consume/
#haiku

11. Quietly growing/
Our spirits will outlive us/
And the things we buy/
#haiku
Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

8 responses to “Spiritual Haikus

  1. Beautifully sad (said) // These local catastrophes // Uproot our frailties

  2. You know, I was already in calm , peaceful mood. Such a beautiful day, nice weather. I’m curled up with my brand new laptop my dad charged on his credit card as a graduation present for me. Reading this, calmed my mind even more. Put me in a contemplative state of mind. It was oddly and unexpectedly soothing to me. Perfect timing eh. Great writings.

  3. odella woodson

    stafford,
    even though your blog is bookmarked and
    always within reach, i havn’t been keeping up.
    it will be on my must read from now on.
    i’ve never seen a person die or pondered what the grim reaper of today wears. important stuff.
    odella

    • Gee, thanks Odella.
      I keep writing
      But I wonder if anybody reads it.
      I have some hidden stuff that you’d appreciate.
      I’ll post you something when I get back from Fire Island
      ~S

  4. I changed this one (2b)
    2b. Assemble your worth/
    Not from your new possessions/
    But your private life/
    #haiku
    I thought “private” better caught what I was looking for than “secret.” Possessions are almost always for a “performative” or ego-driven life that seeks approval.
    I am struck by how little use, real use, or joy we get from so many of our possessions this week. The things I think I really want rarely make me as happy as the intangibles I have and love (& perhaps take for granted).

Leave a Reply

